Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Tafseer Al Quran - 14 Apr 2010

Ustaz Rahmat Jumaat starts the class with recalling the previous lesson on how Islam spread to Persia, Rome,etc.

The Qur'an was revealed in seven ahruf, as is proved in many mutawaatir ahadith. This was because different tribes pronounced and spelled words differently. The forms matched the dialects of following seven tribes: Quraysh, Hudhayl, Thaqîf, Hawâzin, Kinânah, Tamîm and Yemen. The revelation of the Qur'an in seven different ahruuf made its recitation and memorization much easier for the various tribes.

1. To facilitate the memorization of the Qur'aan (as the arabs did not all speak arabic in the same way. The ahruuf eased the memorization and was significant in the preservation of the Qur'aan).

2. To prove the miraculous nature of the Qur'aan (for despite all the differences, the meaning of the Ahruuf did not contradict one another, but rather were complimentary).

3. To prove the truthfulness of the Prophet Muhammad , for despite the fact that he was illiterate, the revelation of the Qur'aan occured in different tribal dialects and different words, all of which consisted of the most fluent and eloquent speech of his time.

4. To honour the ummah of the Prophet Muhammad and show its superiority over all other nations.

Then Ustaz briefly discusses Rasm Uthmani, the technical form of writing to symbolise meaning and 7 Qiraat, the linguistic reading technique.

Read more about the preservation of the Quran here.

No comments: